Gen Wise Perspective

Gen Y's perspective (pun intended) on our journey through work, life, and everything in between.

What are common misconceptions about Gen Y employees? (Pt. 2)

A few days ago I shared a Q&A on the misconceptions of Gen Y employees from someone who manages them. In my attempt to prove a point, I asked a few people the same list of questions.

We now have part two of the series. This Q&A was answered by Angelica Colantuoni. Angelica is currently the VP of Digital at Weber Shandwick in Chicago, and allegedly a reader of Gen Wise Perspective (I’m still not convinced anyone but my mom and Kim read this blog).

So what did Angelica have to say?

1. Does age affect your decision when hiring employees?

Not at all.

2. Do you base an employee’s job role/position on their age?

No.

3. Do you consider someone at a “junior level” less competent than those at a “senior level”?

Not at all. Everyone’s different and brings different strengths to the table regardless if you are junior or senior.

4. What is your overall opinion on age as it relates to an employee’s capabilities/performance?

My overall opinion is that age doesn’t necessarily equal maturity. Lately, I’ve seen more signs of immaturity in those with years and years of experience than I have with people who are just starting their careers.

5. Are there things you think younger generations excel at over others?

I still think that this is an individual thing rather than a sweeping generalization that millenials are more digitally savvy (for example.) We’re all individuals and we all excel in different areas….this isn’t based on age.

6. What is the biggest difference in managing Gen Y employees over others?

From my experience, it’s the desire to get promoted at lightning speed. We all want to get promoted and I suffered from that a bit too as I was starting out but it seems the time frame has gotten shorter as to when they want to get promoted to the next level.

7. is an advantage to assigning junior level employees to projects over senior level employees?

I don’t see an advantage one way or another. Whoever is going to have a smile on their face and make me laugh as we do the assignment together is who I would gravitate towards.

8. What is the number one thing you would say that junior level employees can learn from senior level execs?

Curiosity. I think the most successful execs out there have a natural sense of curiosity…for news, trends, business, etc…This makes your career and life much more satisfying.

9. What surprises you the most about your junior level employees?

I would have to agree with Gini on this one. I’m always surprised on their dependence/relationship with their parents for help with decisions. I’ve seen parents get involved in some reviews because they weren’t happy with the feedback that they received. That’s just crazy to me.

10. Anything else to add on this overall topic? A personal experience you’ve had?

I don’t have one personal experience to share but overall I think it’s all based on personalities and work ethics. I’ve found lately that I tend to have a better working relationship with those that can have fun at their job and not take themselves too seriously whether or not you are 23 or 63. And, honestly, there are very immature and self-absorbed senior level execs out there that take themselves way too seriously. They could take a lesson or two from some Gen Y employees…..

 

And yet again we see it’s about “personalities and work ethics,” rather than age itself. Yes, Gen Y clearly has some flaws (doesn’t everyone?) but they aren’t necessarily ones that make us incapable of performing a job well.

Stay tuned for parts 3 and 4 of this series. I’d love to hear anyone’s thoughts on the subject, so please feel free to share them in the comments.

Also, if you’re feeling ambitious about answering all of these and would like to get involved, just let me know and we’ll extend this into a longer series 🙂

Single Post Navigation

52 thoughts on “What are common misconceptions about Gen Y employees? (Pt. 2)

  1. I just saw this retweeted by U30Pro and I’m really enlightened by these insights about millenials (Gen Y). It’s great to see that actual age doesn’t seem to matter as much as attitude and aptitude.

    Though the answer to question eight really shocks me. I was always under the impression Boomers and Gen X perceive millennials as fairly curious about the world around them. Since we grew up in an information age without borders, we are able to freely learn about pretty much anything (hurray internet!). I wonder if this causes us to filter out things that don’t specifically relate to what we’re interested in. Are we self-censoring ourselves and losing that curiosity that way?

    I’m looking forward to parts three and four!

    • Jackie Lampugnano on said:

      Thanks for commenting! I’m also glad to see age doesn’t matter as much as attitude and aptitude–that’s pretty much always been my point of view, but it’s nice to see it confirmed.

      I suppose that question 8 isn’t necessarily saying that Millennials aren’t curious about the world around them, but I do think we have a tendency to think we know everything when we don’t. Maybe we have that tendency because we grew up with the ability to access any information we wanted (“information age without borders” as you put it). You’re probably right that we’re just filtering out things that don’t specifically relate to us. Or maybe it’s just that because we can find out what we want to know about particular topics, we aren’t as curious about all of the other things happening around us?

      Hopefully 3 and 4 will be up soon!

  2. Two of my favorite people in one spot!

  3. @asandford on said:

    Very interesting series so far. I like the emerging themes of perspective and maturity being attributes at any age. I’ve worked with Gen Y-ers (interns that we’ve then hired) for the last few years and have been extremely impressed with all of them. And it really is their maturity that impresses me. But, it’s maturity coupled with an ability to have fun both in the office and outside. That’s key. Looking forward to Parts 3 and 4. 🙂

    • Jackie Lampugnano on said:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts in the comments. I’m happy to hear you’ve had a good experience with Gen Y employees. I thin you hit the nail on the head about the theme of perspective and maturity being attributes at any age. That’s the argument I always take when I see these Gen Y vs. other generations arguments. It’s not the generation as a whole, it’s the individuals themselves. Although I’m sure there are some characteristics that might define each generation simply because of the time in which we were raised.

      I’m also looking forward to the next parts! Let’s see what other themes start to emerge 🙂

  4. This is a fantastic site, would you be interested in working on an interview regarding just how you created it? If so e-mail me!

  5. This blog site has some really helpful information on it! Cheers for sharing it with me!

  6. After I open up your Feed it appears to be a lot of garbage, is the issue on my part?

  7. Odd , your site shows up with a dark hue to it, what shade is the primary color on your web site?

  8. When I start your Feed it appears to be a ton of junk, is the problem on my side?

  9. I had been wondering if you ever considered adjusting the layout of your web site? Its well written; I love what you have got to say. But maybe you could include a little more in the way of content so people could connect to it better. Youve got a great deal of wording for only having one or two graphics. Maybe you can space it out better?

  10. Oh man. This site is cool! How do you make it look this good ?

  11. account on said:

    Do youve a spam issue on this internet site; I also am a blogger, and I was questioning your scenario; we have created some great techniques and were searching to swap options with other individuals, be sure to fire me an e-mail if planning to pursue.

  12. Have you given any thought at all with converting your current site in to French? I know a small number of translaters right here which would certainly help you do it for free if you wanna contact me personally.

  13. Re: Whoever made the statement that this was a great site genuinely needs to possess their brain examined.

  14. Weird , this page shows up with a dark hue to it, what color is the primary color on your web-site?

  15. Im getting a small issue. I cant get my reader to pick up your rss feed, Im using yahoo reader by the way.

  16. buy leather wallets on said:

    Almost all of the remarks on this web site dont make sense.

  17. This site has got a lot of extremely helpful stuff on it! Thanks for helping me!

  18. buy fridge freezer on said:

    Awesome post . Thank you for, writing on my blog page dude! I will message you again. I didnt know that.

  19. This is really a amazing weblog, would you be interested in working on an interview concerning just how you designed it? If so e-mail me personally!

  20. Im having a little issue. I cant get my reader to pick up your rss feed, Im using msn reader by the way.

  21. I Will have to visit again whenever my course load lets up – however I am getting your Rss feed so i could read your blog offline. Cheers.

  22. This website has some very helpful info on it. Thanks for sharing it with me.

  23. This site has lots of really useful stuff on it! Cheers for helping me.

  24. This site has lots of really helpful stuff on it! Thank you for helping me!

  25. Nice post ! Thanks for, visiting my blog mate! I shall email you some time! I did not realise that.

  26. Have you given any kind of consideration at all with translating your main webpage into Spanish? I know a couple of translaters right here which might help you do it for no cost if you wanna get in touch with me personally.

  27. This is often a excellent blog, would you be interested in making time for an interview about just how you produced it? If so e-mail me!

  28. Re: Whoever made the statement that this was a great web site genuinely needs to get their head looked at.

  29. Strange , your posting shows up with a black color to it, what shade is the primary color on your web site?

  30. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your web page? I am shopping for a great web host and your webpage appears to be extremely fast and up all the time

  31. I have got one idea for your web page. It looks like there are a few cascading stylesheet issues when launching a number of web pages inside google chrome as well as opera. It is working okay in internet explorer. Perhaps you can double check that.

  32. Whenever I originally commented I clicked the Notify me any time new comments are added checkbox and now each and every time a comment is added I get 4 emails with the exact same comment.

  33. How come you do not have your web site viewable in mobile format? Can not view anything in my iPhone.

  34. How come you dont have your website viewable in mobile format? Can not see anything in my iPhone.

  35. Cool post ! Cheers for, writing on my blog page dude! I shall email you soon! I didnt know that.

  36. After I start your Rss feed it appears to be a lot of junk, is the problem on my side?

  37. Just to let you know your web site appears a little bit strange in Safari on my notebook using Linux .

  38. An interesting post right there mate . Thank you for that !

  39. You should really control the responses listed here

  40. very helpful material, all in all I picture this is worthy of a book mark, thank you

  41. If you dont mind, where do you host your web site? I am shopping for a very good web host and your blog appears to be quick and up almost all the time

  42. When I start your Rss feed it appears to be a ton of garbage, is the issue on my part?

  43. After I start your Feed it appears to be a lot of junk, is the issue on my side?

  44. Wow. This blog is cool. How did you make it look like this ?

  45. Have you considered including several social bookmarking buttons to these blogs. At the very least for youtube.

  46. This blog site has some very useful stuff on it! Thank you for helping me.

  47. Good Stuff, do you have a facebook account?

  48. Hey, I just hopped over to your web page through StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would normally read, but I liked your views none the less. Thanks for creating something worth browsing.

  49. I Am Going To have to visit again whenever my course load lets up – nevertheless I am taking your Rss feed so i can read your web blog offline. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

