Gen Wise Perspective

Gen Y's perspective (pun intended) on our journey through work, life, and everything in between.

Where do you go for a refreshing, unique point of view?

I asked this question to the Twittersphere yesterday after I realized that I’m extremely sick of reading the same opinions over and over. I understand that’s part of what happens when you stick to reading about a certain industry, which is why I’m thrilled that Kim borrowed me a copy of her new favorite play: Spring Awakening. It’s nice to mix it up every now and then.

I also enjoy reading sci-fi/fantasy novels for the same reason. Sometimes I just need a break from hearing about how to do _[fill in the blank]_ best with social media. I’m grateful that most of my friends are not in this industry and keep me from talking about this day and night.

Sometimes I just want to hear from someone who’s not spouting a bunch of bs. This week I was happy to encounter Joey Strawn. Joey’s blog posts always provide humor and get to the point. They’re not a bunch of fluff. It’s very refreshing.

I know I’m not the only one who feels this way. Here are some of the responses to my question “Where do you go for a refreshing, unique point of view?”

@IsaacSalazar my family and cab drivers

@ryanstephens Nobody in particular for me. I like checking out TEDx talks. Other than that I’ll look at a few people’s delicious bookmarks.

@willias1 normally id go straight to you, but if you’re asking everyone for new ideas, I’m not sure where that leaves me. #Scratchinghead

@jasonarican Depends on what sort of insight, but I like to go places that I know have opinions different from mine for a fresh perspective

@JasMollica I usually find something new in my Twitter feed that gives me refreshing insight. You just have to look!

@justicewordlaw I check out various youtube videos and then check out some of the top blogs I go to daily

@Jennilynn4 I get up from my desk and take a walk outside. It helps me clear my head/think.

@biggreenpen a kid (for refreshing/unique) or someone of a different gender/generation/nationality/ethnicity

@ryanknapp I tend to pop around on other people’s twitter accts or follow hashtags, see if anyone new stands out.

@jordankelley23 Sometimes it’s nice to go to an outsider thats not involved w/ the situation. Their advice is fresh & their opinion isn’t biased

@Kimberly_Lucio Jill Felska (@felska) because she takes each experience she has and shares it on her blog in a way that everyone can learn from it

What about you? Where do you go to get a different perspective and/or insight?

(thank you to Google images and blog.reflexstock.com for the pic) 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

